Databases

Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.  Ancestry Library Edition cannot be accessed from home. It is in-library use only.  Please use Heritage Quest and Fold3 for genealogy access from home.

AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone. Providing 7,000 recipes, 650 ingredient articles, vintage food labels and ads, historical "What Did They Eat?" articles, How To food videos, and more, AtoZ Food America is the world's largest database of American food, culture, and recipes. It features food, recipes, and research combined with beautiful graphics and illustrations.

Learn about 175 countries: their culture, customs, food, religion, language, maps, points of interest --- even recipes and crossword puzzles!

Find contact information and more for almost 30 million businesses and 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and more.

The Boston Globe is New England’s largest news organization and a 27-time Pulitzer Prize winning news source featuring premium local and national content daily. Over the course of its 150-year history, the Globe has served our region as a trusted source of news, analysis, and insight. Full text coverage: Jan 1, 1997 - present.

Founded in 1847, the Chicago Tribune, is the top source of news and information in the Chicago area and the largest news organization in the Midwest. 

Full text coverage: Dec 4, 1996 - present.

Borrow ebooks and digital audiobooks. CloudLibrary makes it easy to discover the content you want to read. Whether on your browser, a tablet, or your smartphone, you can browse digital shelves curated by librarians, or filter by genres of interest to you. CloudLibrary is a service provided by the GMILCS consortium (originally funded with a Samuel P. Hunt Foundation Grant). There is no monthly limit for borrowing, but you may only have six (6) items checked out at a time. Items are not always available, so you may need to place a hold (we purchase digital copies which are checked out and returned by one patron at a time).

With LearningExpress, you can get help with writing college admissions essays and prepare for important tests such as the AP®, ACT®, SAT® and more.

Brush up on your reading, writing, grammar, vocabulary, math and science skills. Prepare for ACCUPLACER® and ASSET® college placement tests, CLEP® and DSST® exams, and graduate school admissions exams including the DAT®, GMAT®, GRE®, LSAT®, MAT®, MCAT® and PCAT®.

Whether you’re looking to find the best deal on a new appliance or researching top-recommended cars, ConsumerReports.org can help you make the best choice for your time and money. Covering a variety of categories such as electronics, home and garden, babies and kids and more, ConsumerReports.org contains ratings and reviews for thousands of products from shoppers and experts, money-saving advice and tips, buying guides, videos and more.

CreativeBug offers self-paced video classes covering all aspects of creative arts and crafts! Teach yourself something new, or enhance art and craft skills with ideas for new projects, as well as daily practice classes and suggestions. You're More Creative Than You Think!

Resumes made easy!

Cypress Resume is the online resume builder that lets you create professional-quality resumes in three quick and simple steps.

In a few minutes you will have a great-looking, well-written resume that will give you the edge in today's ultra-competitive job market!

This resource provides free and interactive practice tests based on the New Hampshire driver's license manual. No registration information is collected, and the site is ad-free! Study for the permit test, the driver's license test, and the senior citizens' refresher test. Online driver's manuals, as well as practice tests, for car, truck, and motorcycle licenses! Accessibility features allows pages to be read aloud, translated into other languages, and magnified!

HeritageQuest Online provides a comprehensive collection of genealogical and local history resources. This database makes it convenient to explore billions of American and international genealogical records dating back to the 1700s — including unique primary sources, family and local histories, research guides, interactive census maps and more. Combined with an easy to use search experience, it’s easier than ever for users to discover their ancestors and learn about local people and places from the past.

Borrow ebooks, digital audiobooks, music, movies, TV episodes, and comics. With your up to date Nesmith Library card, you will be able to download or stream books, audios, music, and movies to your smartphone or other device, or, to your computer.  Each library card can borrow up to four (4) items each month.  All content is immediately available, so there are no waiting lists!

LearningExpress Library is an easy-to-use online resource featuring online tutorials, practice tests, quizzes and e-books to help you achieve your educational and professional goals. In addition to helping you improve your reading, writing, math and basic science skills, LearningExpress Library offers tools and resources to help you search for jobs, build workplace skills and prepare for career certification exams. You'll also find college and grad school admissions test prep, GED® test prep, U.S. citizenship test prep and much more.

Borrow ebooks, digital audiobooks, and digital magazines. OverDrive access is provided by the library's membership in New Hampshire Downloadable Books. OverDrive provides a great browser and mobile experience with the Libby app: visit your app store to download Libby on your device, or use the classic NHDB OverDrive interface through your browser! There is no monthly limit for borrowing, but you may only have three (3) items checked out at a time. Items are not always available, so you may need to place a hold (we purchase digital copies which are checked out and returned by one patron at a time).

The Los Angeles Times is the largest metropolitan daily newspaper in the country, with more than 40 million unique latimes.com visitors monthly, Sunday print readership of 1.6 million and a combined print and online local weekly audience of 4.4 million. The Pulitzer Prize-winning Times has been covering Southern California for more than 141 years. Full text coverage: Dec 4, 1996 - present.

News, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world. 

Full text coverage: Jun 1, 1980 - present.

Read, search, and browse articles and issues of the New York Times Book Review! Full text coverage: Jan 3, 1988 - present

Read, search, and browse articles and issues of the New York Times Magazine! Full text coverage: Jan 5, 1997 - present  

Use our Niche Academy Tutorials to learn to use our digital resources, as well as tech tools you can use across the web! View the tutorials for other resources on this page to help you get the most out of your library card!

Ready for a new K-8 book? Need a reading recommendation? Whether you’re hungry for a story about starting school, superheroes, or not-so-scary monsters, our Recommended Reads lists will keep your to-be-read pile filled.

Finding a new book is as simple as 1-2-3. Find fiction and nonfiction books to read or listen to. Search by favorite author, title or series and find similar titles, reviews and reading group guides.

This is a portal to search all of our resources from ProQuest, including: 

Coronavirus Research Database, Publicly Available Content Database‎, Boston Globe‎ (1980 - current), U.S. Major Dailies (1980 - current).

The Wall Street Journal was founded in July 1889. Ever since, the Journal has led the way in chronicling the rise of industries in America and around the world. Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - present.

The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C.. 

Full text coverage: Dec 4, 1996 - present.

Language learners can build vocabulary, practice skills, and maintain what they have learned with Transparent Language Online, available anytime, anywhere in 110+ languages.

This is a portal to search all of the newspapers included in the U.S. Major Dailies database. 

U.S. Major Dailies includes Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Each of these can also be accessed separately.  

Library Elite is the most extensive research tier of Value Line, granting access to a vault of investment research, data, expert analysis, and unbiased commentary with a time-tested and performance-proven Ranking System. This equity package monitors more than 3,000 companies that account for more than 95% of the value of all stocks traded on United States exchanges with market values ranging from less than $1 billion to well over $2 trillion across 100 industries.