Nesmith Library

Windham, New Hampshire

Teens

Learn about 175 countries: their culture, customs, food, religion, language, maps, points of interest --- even recipes and crossword puzzles!

This multi-disciplinary, general database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 and further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is a great source for scholarly articles, and a good place to begin your research. 

Access World News provides access to thousands of newspapers from around the world including the New Hampshire Union Leader (Manchester), The Telegraph (Nashua), the Boston Herald, USA Today, as well as other major metropolitan areas. Also included are many military newspapers, and articles from over 20 magazines, such as The New Yorker, Newsweek, Parenting, Popular Science, and Smithsonian.

American history at your fingertips: biographies, events, primary sources, timelines, images and videos, maps and charts!

Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

This resource provides free and interactive practice tests based on the New Hampshire driver's license manual. No registration information is collected, and the site is ad-free! Study for the permit test, the driver's license test, and the senior citizens' refresher test. Online driver's manuals, as well as practice tests, for car, truck, and motorcycle licenses! Accessibility features allows pages to be read aloud, translated into other languages, and magnified!

General, business, consumer health articles, academic resources, plus sources for children and young adults, including, but not limited to, the following databases: AHFS Consumer Medication Information; ERIC (Education Resource Information Center); Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; MAS Ultra - School Edition (high school student resources); Middle Search Plus (middle school student resources); Primary Search (elementary student school resources). Click on "All EBSCO Resources from NHewLINK" to access these, and other databases.

Explora for Middle and High School Students is a research tool for middle school and high school students that enables a quick search of articles, essays, and primary source documents including journals, abstracts, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, dictionaries, books, biographies, and historical essays.

50 eBooks offer information on business, literature, sports, medicine, science, law, religion, history and more, all in full text and searchable. 

Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, business government and society, family and community, education, and popular culture. A great resource for debaters!

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

NoveList Plus makes recommendations for what to read next.  All the recommendations include an explanation as to why a particular selection might be appealing to the reader. NoveList Plus contains descriptions and recommendations for both fiction and narrative, nonfiction titles, and is appropriate for all ages from the youngest readers to adults. Additionally, NoveList Plus includes book discussion guides, thematic book lists, and reading and book oriented articles. Book groups and teachers will find these resources especially helpful.

This database holds the electronic versions of our Salem Press reference materials. Included in the collection are books on literature, history, science, health, and careers, with titles includingThe 50 States, Forensic Science, Adolescent Health and Wellness, Magill's Literary Annual, Defining Documents in American History, Great Events from History, and Great Lives from History.

Explore all of these science disciplines: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Marine Science, Mathematics, Physics, Space and Astronomy, and Weather and Climate!