Book Autopsy:

A Book Discussion Program with Marylu and Marcy

Wednesday, September 24, at 7:00 PM

participants will read and discuss

 

The Boy Who Could See Demons : a novel

The Boy Who Could See Demons: A Novel

by

Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Please join facilitators Marcy and Marylu for an interesting discussion. All are welcome!

Copies of the book are available at the Nesmith Library.

From Barnes & Noble:

Bestselling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soul—perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining case—one that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible.

If you watch any contemporary crime drama, you know the importance of an autopsy, but what exactly is a "book autopsy"?

Questions to be asked:

--Are the characters believable?  Do they follow a full arc?  Do they make a fundamental change in their nature or do they force a change in their environment?

--Does the plot deliver?  Is it consistent?  Are parts too slow?

 --What parts of the book are confusing?  What are the best written parts?

--What is the author trying to say, if anything?

--How do our cultural upbringings affect how we read the book/like the book?

 

 

 

back to home page

08/29/14